Buy the Sand Water Activity Center on http://www.step2.comPrint This PagePrint This Page
Sand  Water Activity Center image
 
(based on 136 ratings)
Brand:Step2
Located in:Children's Products, Sand Water Play

Click to View a Sand  Water Activity Center DemoThis Step2 favorite is loaded with Sand and Water action, including two bridges, ramps, cups, and boats, as well as an umbrella and molded cover. An elevated play space means less sand or water on your children's clothes and a more accessible surface for all.

  • Wood crafted styling blends with natural landscapes
  • Two sides: one for water play, one for sand
  • Includes 8-piece accessory kit: umbrella (color may vary), 2 bridges, 2 boats, 2 pots and 1 shovel
  • Drain plug built in
  • Elastic tie-downs keep lid secure (and critters out!)
  • Detachable legs
  • Umbrella designed to provide child with protection from the sun and the damaging effects of ultraviolet rays
  • Umbrella blocks 97.5% of UVA and UVB rays (UPF rating of 40+)
  • Coordinates with other Step2 Naturally Playful products
  • Made in USA of US and imported parts (umbrella made in China)
  • Minimal adult assembly required
  • View a printable version of the Sand Water Activity Center

Awards:

  • Gold Award, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, 2005
  • Mom-Tested Best Pick, Parenting Magazine, 2004
Product Reviews Summary
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 136 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive design(84), Durable(110), Easy assembly(66), Easy to fill(26), Fun(43)
Cons:
Difficult assembly(8), Hard to keep clean(10), Leaks(3), Not durable(3), Unsafe(4)
Best Uses:
Backyard(25), Creative development(9), Group activity(3), Group play(84), Imaginative play(11)
Describe Yourself:
Daycare provider- educator(7), Education oriented(35), First time parent(10), Grandparent(20), New parent(13)
 
Great Toy
By Stay at Home MommyVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 4/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Party, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our Two year old recenlty got this as a birthday gift and is enjoying his daily sessions of water play- and so am I!

 
Excellent source of entertainment
By MargVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh PA on 4/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Powerful Water Stream
Best Uses:
Backyard, Party, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my granddaughter uses this product on a daily basis and throughly enjoys it.

 
legs don't support the table
By Mom of 2 from nj on 3/24/2008
Pros:
Fun
Cons:
Breaks Easily
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
Parent of Two or More Children

My 4 and 2 year old love this table, but the legs keep swaying and have now broken off completely. It is just poorly designed.

Step2 Response: If you need assistance with this product, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800-347-8372
 
I recommend this to my friends.
By Summer Fun from Massachusetts on 3/13/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Cons:
Weak Water Stream
Best Uses:
Backyard, Indoor/Winter, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this last summer for my 15 month old son. He absolutely loved it all summer long. However... there is no way any age child will keep the water on one side and the sand on the other, it ends up as mud by days end. I ended up getting a sandbox and he plays in that and this is just used as a water table. It's great because I brought it in over the winter and made a snow table as well which he truly enjoyed. It's easy to move and the umbrella is very sturdy and keeps the sun from beating down on him. The only problem I'm having is when the snow melted water was leaking on my floor. When he used it over the summer I didn't notice the leaks but definitely when it came inside I did... it's good for the money. He has fun and so does all his playmates. I would recommend due to the cost, it's not expensive and he has alot of fun but you do get what you pay for.

 
Great Purchase
By Mom of toddlerVerified Purchaser from Montgomery, AL on 3/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent

My 15 month old son loves this product. We recently purchased several step 2 products for the backyard and this is by far his favorite. He can play with it for hours (I amazed). I particularly like the umbrella and the ease of emptying the water side when the weather is cool. (Just pull the plug.) Unfortunately, my son has also learned to pull the plug. This doesn't bother me as he has learned that pulling the plug means no more water play for the day. He ususally chooses to leave it alone. I have added extra sand and water toys to the mix, but the starter toys they a give you are still some of his favorites. I'm not sure how sturdy the umbrella would be in a storm or very windy weather, but we ususally just take it down at the end of the day anyway. Great purchase.

 
Great for little ones
By SumSumVerified Purchaser from Northern MN on 3/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our daughter received this over 2 years ago, she's now 4. It keeps her occupied for quite a while & she loves to combine to sand & water. Washes out easy w/ garden hose.

I had to buy this for my 1 year old niece & she LOVES it!

 
Great Outdoor Fun!!!
By Ron's Mom-MomVerified Purchaser from Eastern Shore of Maryland on 2/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Party, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is very durable! I have had a couple of kids up on top sitting in sand-no problem. They love playing together with this year after year. Great quality!!

 
Grandkids can't wait to use it
By Nana & PapaVerified Purchaser from Marengo, IL on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the fact that it can be covered when not in use. Like that we can use it inside or outside.

 
active grandchildren are entertained
By grandma charlieVerified Purchaser from sarasota, fla on 1/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Older Children, Party, Pool, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great activity for all your grandchildren. I bought one for each of my grandchildren.

 
keeping the grandchidren busy
By grandma charlieVerified Purchaser from sarasota, fla on 1/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it is a great activity for all your grandchildren to enjoy together while visiting

 
Christmas Gift for Grandbaby
By justbevVerified Purchaser from Albany, GA on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Weather hasn't been good since I gave it for Christmas gift for my grandbaby. Showed it to her, but she hasn't really played with it yet. Her parents and I like it, though.

 
nice for backyard fun
By pkjVerified Purchaser from fl on 1/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fun
Cons:
Water leaks
Best Uses:
Backyard, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter seems to enjoy for short periods of time. The only problem is the water leaks...maybe from legs?

Step2 Response: If the leaking problem persists, please contact Step2 at 1-800-347-8372 for further assistance and guidance.
 
Great Activity!
By GramVerified Purchaser from Phoenix on 12/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 20 month old grandson and he loves it! He lives in Arizona so he will get many months of use out of it. Every time we try to get him to come inside he crys to stay out and play in the water and sand longer. Well worth the money.

 
Indoor/Outdoor table
By Mom from Chicago on 11/20/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Perfect outdoor toy, then wash it off and bring it in for the winter. It makes a great road and "construction site" and provides endless entertainent when the outdoors is not an option!

 
More Leg Support
By Rachel from Hatboro, PA on 11/8/2007
Pros:
Easy to Fill, Fun
Cons:
Breaks Easily, Unsafe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Older Children, Summer
Describe Yourself:
Parent of Two or More Children
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This toy brings a lot of joy to my two boys (2 and 4). However after 1st few use’s the legs bent in from them leaning on the table while playing, and the toy has never been the same. One time the table actually fell on my youngest son and trapped him underneath it. It wasn't awful since I was right there to come to his rescue, but definitely not the safest toy they have.

Step2 Response: Please contact Step2 at 1-800-347-8372 for further assistance with your Activity Table.
 
GREAT PRODUCT
By PurehickoryVerified Purchaser from NC on 11/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Cons:
Weak Water Stream
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got this for our daughter for her 1 year old birthday present. She loves it even though she tries to eat the sand from time to time..haha...highly recommend...everything I hoped it would be and more!

 
My 3 Year old LOVES it.
By Tommybahama from Staten Island, NY on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this, he also has the Up and Away Sand box with the crane. I think he likes that one better, but they are a totally different play experience. The only con about this table is if you don't get all the water out if can get moldy. So we had to replace the sand. But kids don't care about the mess of wet sand, so whatever makes him happy makes me happy.

 
Great , offers hours and hours of play
By Cathy, Teddy Bear Play SchoolVerified Purchaser from East Coventry TWP, Pottstown, PA on 10/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Older Children, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had this same water table and had to leave it behind when I moved. When it was time to get a new water table I looked at others but came right back to this one. My childcare children of all ages (1-11) played with it every day. I did try the sand on one side and water on the other, this did not work for me. So, in the summer it was all water. I changed it's contents with the seasons, leaves, sand and more. Great product, the most used of all of my outdoor play equipment!

 
Lots of fun
By TVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 10/21/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Parent of Two or More Children
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids love this toy. I just wish that it came with more little toys to play inside...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not So Great!
By Boo from Silver Spring, MD on 10/20/2007
Pros:
Easy to Fill, Fun
Cons:
Breaks Easily, Unsafe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer
Describe Yourself:
Parent of Two or More Children
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a 4 year old son and he loved it when I got it, but as he played with it the legs would bend in and the sand would spill everywhere. I tryed to fix the legs but they kept doing the same thing. The legs need better suport so that they will stay.

 
Great if you like Mud
By Jeanna from SH, FL on 10/15/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Working Parent

If I could go back I probably would have purchased two separate tables, the one just for sand and the one just for water. My friend has the water table and the kids just love it. This one is a little boring for the water; the kids just want to throw the sand into the water and that makes a big mess. They do have a lot of fun though ~ but the cleanup can be a pain. And you go through a lot of sand.

 
Very Good. My kids love it.
By mom of twoVerified Purchaser from Dove Canyon, CA on 10/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Parent of Two or More Children
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two children, boy age 16 months and girl age 30 months, love the water/sandbox. It has served as enjoyment/play several hours a day. We live in California so the water/sandbox can be used all year.

 
Perfect Sandbox
By mom from Chicago on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this table. It is sturdy and durable. The fact that it has 2 sides makes it that much more fun!

 
Great outdoor toy for little experiments
By CaroleeVerified Purchaser from Rockville, MD on 10/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two-year-old loves to experiment. His sand and water table is really a sand & mud table, but he loves it! It's a great tool to watch the problem solving process, and to encourage it as well. Suspend your need for cleanliness (aka clear water) and enjoy the process!

 
hours of fun
By milo's momVerified Purchaser from thousand oaks, ca on 10/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
First Time Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

only problem we have is that our 18 month old son is able to easily pull the plug on the water side - meaning we have to constantly be filling it up again. other than that, great product.

 
grand daughter loves planing in water
By mammiVerified Purchaser from willis mi on 10/8/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Older Children, Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is my second one i have bought this one is for greatgranddaughter for Chtistmas

 
He loves it!
By Mid-life MomVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Cons:
Table leaked after assemb
Best Uses:
Summer, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Parent of Two or More Children, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great toy, but we are having some problems with the table leaking where one or two of the legs were attached. May have to take apart and re-assemble to see if problem can be fixed on our own.

 
Great Buy
By C Jr from RI on 9/23/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Fill, Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Backyard, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lots of fun, my 20 month old son played for hours, made a mess but who cares he loved it, worth all the money

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better if it didn't leak
By wet nanaVerified Purchaser from Weymouth, MA on 9/15/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly
Cons:
Water leaked through legs
Best Uses:
Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I put the Activity center together step by step and when I filled it with water it was leaking down the legs, I had to put silicone on the knobs inside the box

 
Great Buy!
By Mom of 2Verified Purchaser from Massachusetts on 9/8/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We really love this table! We love the umbrella and the bridge side of the table. Both my four year old and one year old have really enjoyed playing with this toy. However, I didn't like how the water seemed to get trapped inside the inner table. I tried taking out the two water plugs underneath out, but water was still trapped there. My husband drilled six small holes in each corner of the table underdeath, which allows all of the water that gets trapped inside to get out. Now that we've done that, it's perfect!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great toy for the price
By amanda from ridgecrest, CA on 9/7/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two year old got this for Easter, and loves it. The only downfall is that the plug doesnt hold the water well. My husband had to glue it closed so that it would stop leaking. The other thing is that it is very hard to keep the sand and water from mixing, so we are cleaning it all the time. It does have a great design, and I love that it comes with an umbrella to keep the sun off of my son while he is playing.

 
A funfilled toy
By mom of 2Verified Purchaser from Pekin, IL on 9/5/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My children love to play with this table. The only complaint is that I wish they could keep the sand on the sand side and out of the water. It usually turns into a big mess, but then I just let them play and clean everything up. It is better than having them sit in a sand box.

 
Sand Water Activity Center
By Margo the preschool teacher & grandmaVerified Purchaser from Layton, Utah on 9/1/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a preschool and the children really enjoy the sand & water table. My grandchildren also love playing with it.

 
Excellent toy
By Alex's MomVerified Purchaser from Hamden, CT on 9/1/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my 2yo son and another for my 4 yo nephew for his birthday the following year. This toy occupies them in play for hours holding their interest as well as that of their younger and older cousins. Good for cooperative play as well as individual play. We filled ours with water and sea creatures and the boys love it. My son's friend had his filled with sand at his 3 yo birthday party and all the kids played together very nicely with it throughout the party. I'm not good at putting things together, so my husband put the few screws it needed to have screwed in to assemble it for me. That was the only thing I had a slightly hard time with. It seems quite durable. The umbrella is a nice feature to provide shade in the summer while they are playing.

 
cute!!
By terbear from cananda on 8/30/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

overall great product, could be a little taller for the age range.the only thing is trying to keep the sand out of the water, i use floating sand(moon sand)

 
Was a hit....
By GraceVerified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 8/29/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this items for my sons 2nd b-day, and we had it out for his party and all the other kids loved it and the parents all wanted to know where I purchased it.

 
I love it!
By Cindy & Kids from Nova Scotia on 8/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a 3 year old and a 1 year old and bought this for our deck. We have had months of fun with it and it has been worth every penny.

The first day I put water and sand both in it, and within minutes my little girl discovered how to make mud! Both kids had a blast with that, but I did decide that for my own cleanliness on my deck, I would only use sand or water not both. I think that both of their ages are ready to discover and not to keep them 'separate', so when I move it to my lawn they can mess away!

I have had many leisurely afternoons playing dinosaurs and boats with this toy! Thanks!

 
JUST PERFECT
By LouVerified Purchaser from Murrieta, CA on 8/21/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best thing we have put money into! Our son enjoys this very much! He would play with it for hours if we let him! Perfect size, perfect height, just an overall great prduct!

 
hours of fun
By tbones'mommyVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 8/20/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this sand/water table is great! My two year old son plays for hours at a time irregardless if there is water in it or not. He loves the little toys that came with it, and I love the fact that it is easy to set up and take down. The colors are neutral, not like some other kids toys that have bright outrageous colors. The umbrella is a great size and the cover is great at keeping the rain out... I would definately recommend this toy and or buy it again.

 
Hours of Fun
By AnnVerified Purchaser from KY on 8/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two year old son loves this activity center.

 
needs a little extra
By babydollVerified Purchaser from new jersey on 8/17/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Needs some more toys like a car or truck to drive around. you got the boats but only the buckets for the sand nothing to drive on the roads. only boats for the water!

 
Love this water/sand table!
By Jenn the SAHMVerified Purchaser from Montague, CA on 8/17/2007
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids love this toy. They will play in it for an hour at a time. It is also super durable. Thanks for a great product!

 
It's a great item! The kids love it!
By RMKVerified Purchaser from Elmsford, NY on 8/12/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented

Great product!

 
Great Fun!
By Clara's MomVerified Purchaser from Troy, OH on 8/9/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Hours of Fun, Umbrella, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly, No drain on sand side
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter loves this sandbox. At 21 mos, it is the perfect size for her. She will play in it for hours. Even though it's hot outside, she'd rather play in her sandbox rather than her pool. I love the umbrella. It's great for my fair-skinned child.(I picked this version over the plain sand table because of the umbrella.)

I would have given this activity center a five-star review, except I did think it was a little hard to put together. I am an experienced "assembler," and I was not strong enough to insert the screws even with a power drill. My husband had to help. If the holes were predrilled better, it wouldn't have been a two person job.

Also, I understand the complaints about no drain on the sand side. We put sand in both sides, because we thought our daughter was too young to keep the sand & water separate. However, I can see where an additional drain would be helpful in the future.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product.
By medmorenoVerified Purchaser from Orosi, CA. on 8/6/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good product. Great that it comes with and umbrella. Hard to keep water and sand separate. Sand area should have a drain for water that splashes over, if possible. Decided to just keep water in table and no sand.

 
Lots of Fun
By SuzpuddleVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, Pa on 8/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy Assembly, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids, 2 yr old and a 4 year old really enjoy this product. They were really excited when I set it up. The only thing I had a problem with was, the kids could not help themselves from mixing the sand with the water and they created quite a mess. They had a really good time playing with it though.

 
my daughter loves it
By ashaVerified Purchaser from middletown ny on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, New Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great stuff

 
Nice Product
By mom of 3Verified Purchaser from nh on 7/29/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to insert screws
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice product - fun for a wide age range

 
tons of fun and attracts your friends
By jesseVerified Purchaser from northampton, ma on 7/24/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Needs center support, Slightly buckels in middl
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

wonderful play area.

 
Love It!
By Mom of twinsVerified Purchaser from Fallbrook, CA on 7/24/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, New Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 1 yr old boys who needed something to stand & play at... the water & sand is a perfect fascination for them!!

 
Keeps kids busy
By busy dadVerified Purchaser from Long Island, NY on 7/23/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Hours of Fun, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

nice product kids really enjoy it and spend hours there.

 
This product is the bomb
By The manVerified Purchaser from Detroit on 7/23/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great product

 
we recommend this for toddlers and up
By mom of 3 great kiddosVerified Purchaser from indiana on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we thought it was the best for the price -- hgt is great and higher then others to pick from, lid is great to keep any bird droppings,cats, squirrels, water all that stuff moms dont want in a sand box out! Design is attractive to put on our deck, easy to assemble in a hour or less for my husband
my older 6 and 9 yr old play in it as much as my 16mth old

 
Great toy
By Leann824 from North Dakota on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Kids love it. I only put water in it. I had a problem with the legs leaking at first but took apart and reliezed I had assambled wrong. So if yours leaks just take apart the legs and make sure you get the plastic stoppers in right. I also have the water wheel table and kids love both. Only wish that the legs went on as easy as the water wheel table legs.

 
Happy Son, Happy Life!
By KrimeyVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 7/20/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly, Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We followed other suggestions and only put water in here. My son loves it! I agree with other reviewers that leakage is a problem and I wish there was a drain on the "sand" side for those of us who don't want to track *mud* back into the house. Have to tip it over to empty the water. It was difficult for me to drill all the screws in---and I had a drill! Other than that, my son is SO happy playing with it.

 
Sand and Water Table
By KellyVerified Purchaser from Ashley, MI on 7/18/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My children received this item as a birthday gift for both of them since their birthdays are very close together. They are 5 and 3 year old boys. They are having a great time but they always mix the sand and water. Although I tried to convince them otherwise, they love to create a "beach" on the sand side, which of course must have water. The umbrella is perfect. I highly recommend this item.

 
GREAT PRODUCT!
By AmandaVerified Purchaser from Wooster, Ohio on 7/17/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful product with hours of creative play to be had!

 
This sand box is for years of play
By CEFVerified Purchaser from Arlington, VA on 7/17/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This sand box is wonderful because your child won't be sitting in it and bringing half the sand back inside with him/her. It can also be used with water only or half sand, half water and it includes an umbrella. Tons of fun for years to come.

 
Lots of backyard fun
By Marie the momVerified Purchaser from Springfield, NJ on 7/16/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Assembly was a little tough...not complicated, but some of the screws were tough to align. You absolutely need a power screw driver. But, worth it in the end. My two kids (18 months and 3 yrs) love playing with this for a solid hour or so in the backyard.

 
Lots of Fun
By Em's Mom from Fort Wayne, IN on 7/13/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fun, Good for Group Play, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly, Leaks
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the product and design but the legs leak on the water side. My husband has tried everything to try to seal them and they still leak. My daughter loves this, though. She and her friends will play for hours in it. The umbrella is not very sturdy and has broken several times. I've had to restitch the arms to the fabric and now they have broken. the Little Tikes umbrella from our table is much more sturdy.

 
Definitely worth the buy
By Mom of two.Verified Purchaser from Clarks Summit, PA on 7/12/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two year old son loves this sand & water table. However, I wish their was a drain plug on the bottom of both the water & sand areas. He (and his friends) love to mix the water and sand. It is easy to drain the water side & let the sand dry out, but takes a bit longer for the sand side.

 
My son loves it!
By LisaVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, North Carolina on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was easy to assemble, and my son could start playing immediately. He helped his dad assemble and used it for 2 hours the first day. Even told his friends at daycare about it. Love the umbrella, it's hot here, and the shade is imperative.

 
I love this product
By KendalVerified Purchaser from Uxbridge, MA on 7/9/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
New Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a busy 2 year old and she loves this activity center. It keeps her busy for hours. I am usually hesitant to buy big toys b/c her attention span is so short. But, this was a great purchase and I would recommend it to anyone with young children. My cousin had this same sand/water table at his house and my daughter loves it. So, we bought it too!

 
A lots of fun
By darosVerified Purchaser from Stamford CT on 7/8/2007
Pros:
Hours of Fun, Safe
Cons:
Not too deep
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good toy to have on your back yard. A lots of fun for kids

 
Sand & water +10 minutes +3 year old = ?
By UoshnockVerified Purchaser from Sand Lake, NY on 7/7/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, imagination, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The kids are having a blast. But I, the dad am finding it hard to keep the sand part dry. Could you possibly add another drain plug to the sand side.

 
Thrilled!
By Grandma JVerified Purchaser from Tampa, FL on 7/6/2007
Pros:
Easy Assembly, Locking lid, Well-engineered
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am thrilled with this product, the grandkids love it, and I would certainly recommend it to others.
Assembly was easy, the product is well engineered, and the lid closing-locking system is brilliant!

 
"Muddy Water & Messy Sand Table"
By KelsieVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 7/5/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, New Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves both the sand and water, but had difficulty keeping them apart at first. By the end of the day, the sand & water table looked like muddy water and puddles of sand. I was constantly cleaning it. It took a few days/trials to help him get the hang of playing with the table without dumping all of the sand & water out.

 
Every backyard needs this!
By RooVerified Purchaser from Springboro, Ohio on 7/2/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Plug wants to pop out
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my grandaughther's second birthday. She spends hours at the sand box end. I keep it on my patio and the umbrella keeps her protected from the sun. Love this product and highly recommend it.

 
I would buy this item again
By MarmeVerified Purchaser from St. Louis, MO on 6/28/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an early childhood educator for over 30 years and now as a grandparent, I really appreciate the value of this product. The most important thing to me was the play value and the fact that it was reasonably priced is a bonus.

 
Overall good product
By AnnaVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PS on 6/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall liked the product and my daughter enjoys it. Was a little difficult to assemble (my husband has to use a drill -the "predrilled holes" were far from it!). The stopper for the water slide popped open a few times during the first use because there was a little sand under it after my daughter pulled it open. Would recommend making the plugs child proof so kid doesn't open it. [...]

 
Perfect Toy for a Two Year Old
By SugarVerified Purchaser from Houma, Louisiana on 6/24/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Two year old loved it
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very pleased with the product.

 
GREAT PRODUCT
By MariaVerified Purchaser from Chicago IL on 6/23/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a lot of fun. My two and a half year old son loves it. He usually has a short attention span with toys but he has played with this for up to an hour at a time.

 
Love, Love, Love it !!!
By EJ's MomVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 6/21/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son received this as a first birthday present. We immediately put it together and he had the time of his life playing with the water table. It's the perfect height for him to stand at and cruise around on the back porch during the hot summer months. It's a great alternative to filling up the baby pool when the day is hot. I immediately bought one for my 22 month old neice in Seattle who loves it just as much. My sister filled the sand portion with beans instead of sand to keep it clean and easy. My niece spends hours at the table, giving her pregnant mom a bit of a break.

 
I would buy this product again, and did
By Grandpa TonyVerified Purchaser from West Des Moines, Ia on 6/20/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second one which I have purchased for grandchildren

 
A Must Buy
By GreycatVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 6/19/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 & 1/2 year old son played with this at a friend's house and loved it! Once we got it, he plays with it every day, and on his own for most of the time. Love the fact that the cover stays on tightly and umbrella stores inside. Definitely would reccommend this! We use this only as a sandtable, as others have told me if you use 1/2 for water, becomes a mud table!

 
Grandkids just love it to death
By Best Grammy EverVerified Purchaser from Canton, MI on 6/19/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Guaranteed to please, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Develops fine motor skill, Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

From the photos which I have seen, and the comments made by my daughter and her children, it is simply a delightful peace of play equipment.(I had it mailed to them.)My daughter gets to relax while the kids enjoy creative and imaginative play. I was told that it is the BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT which I could have gotten them.

 
Nice Set, Flimsy Umbrella
By Mommy of 2 Boys from Long Island,NY on 6/15/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Hours of Fun
Cons:
Flimsy Umbrella
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product about two months ago. The assembly is relatively easy, but only if you have a drill... You kind of have to predrill your own holes even though the holes are supposed to be predrilled, but I put it together myself (and I'm blonde, go figure.)After having a sand/water table previously, I learned that adding water to it is a headache to clean up and I now put sand in both sides. If the sand doesn't mold because of being too dry, I just wet it down with a little water and it's perfect! My only complaint about this set is that one of the metal prongs on the umbrella has already detached and is now unusable because a sharp metal piece is hanging from it. I would expect that if it were a year or more after I purchased it, but not after only two months. [...] In the meantime, the kids absolutely love it and both my five and two year old spend HOURS playing in it. Overall I would recommend this product, even with the flimsy umbrella issue.

 
Product as described
By PatVerified Purchaser from Benicia, CA on 6/15/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comes with plug to let wa, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Water out
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, New Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Plug to let water out after each play is a great idea.
Hoping that the ties that hold the cover on hold up . It is important to keep a sand box covered.

 
"Perfect for a toddler"
By JennVerified Purchaser from Murfreesboro, TN on 6/14/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for our son who is 17 months old. He loves it!! We love how it sits off the ground so he can stand and play, since he is a very active little boy! Also, the cover is easy to get on and off and it keeps the sand clean.

 
Just Great!
By pointer111Verified Purchaser from Cape May, New Jersey on 6/13/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful product! My daughter loves the asseccories....the boats, shovel and flower pots. The umbrella is a great bonus.

 
A great backyard toy
By NanaVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 6/13/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandmother
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Keeps my grandson very busy. Even busier when his friend plays with him.
He wants to show everyone his sand and water table, very proud.

 
So much fun!
By Melissa from North of Dallas, Texas on 6/12/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My oldest daughter just turned 3. My second daughter is 17mths. They both had equal amounts of fun but in different ways. The oldest was aware of the bridges and boat trails. The little one loved splashing. We filled both sides with water. I'm going to dump it out after each use because my youngest spent most of her time drinking the water!

 
nice water table
By malbeccaVerified Purchaser from Kansas on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I turned it in to an all water table. Works great. The unbrella is a great add.

 
Wonderful Purchase!
By CASMOM from Cincinnati, Ohio on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Accessories, Attractive Design, Covered play area, Durable, Easy to cover when done, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly, No Pre-drilled wholes, Umbrella blows out
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter has loved this table from day one. We bought it several months ago, and there has not been a day that she hasn't asked to, "Go play sandbox." We have it on our top deck which gets sun most of the day, and the umbella is wonderful. It covers all of the play area. The only cons I have with the table are that the pre-drilled holes for assembly were not predrilled in the one I bought. I also wish that the umbrella had a clip or something that would keep it from blowing away. It gets pretty windy our top deck, and it keeps blowing out. One last con is that when the umbrella is not in, my daughter loves to pour sand down the whole that is left. I just put a paper there, but a cover would have been helpful. The pros, however, far out weigh the cons. I love the cover, I love that it is just the right height for a two year old. We use it as just a sand table, and we bought the STEP 2 water table to go with it, which I would also recommend.

 
Lot of fun in very little space!
By smlechten from St. Charles, MO on 6/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Messy
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been very happy with this product. It was easy to assemble and functions well. I have never had a problem with any kind of leaking. It is well-made and durable. It lived on my Cleveland, OH area deck for 2 1/2 years - through winters with 12+ inches of snow and still looks and works great. It is easy to clean with a mild cleaning solution and scrub brush. I use a diluted bleach solution at the beginning and end of the season to remove any mold/mildew. My boys have loved it from age 2, and my 4 1/2 year old still rushes to play with it. I expect that it will be a source of entertainment at least through 7-8. It encourage creative play, and the child can create new scenarios for more advanced play as they get older. The best part is that it will fit in a small area of a deck or on a small patio/balcony and still provide hours of enjoyment. We relocated recently and are in a tiny apartment waiting for our new house. The boys are still entertained even on the tiny enclosed patio using this table. This is a terrific item if you have limited space or an unusual yard. The only drawback the messiness of play and sand in general. I used it as a water/water table for the first two years because little children throw sand and get covered with it. I was just tired of piles of sand on my deck and the boys wearing more sand than was left in the table. Water dries and doesn't hurt. Plus it removes the complication of the water/sand mixture in both sides leading to massive goop - which amazingly is still very entertaining, however it dries to a stucco like mud that is more difficult to remove. The boys like both sand and water play, but I definitley prefer just one at a time for mess/convenience factor - and they still always have fun.[...] .

 
My boys LOVE this!
By Home day care momVerified Purchaser from Eldersburg, Maryland on 6/7/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Open Ended Play, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator, Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had this sand/water table for a year. I just purchased one for my nephew. It is a wonderful, well priced product. There are so many ways to use it. Sometimes we just put water in both sides, sometimes sand, and sometimes both. On hot days, we'll even throw in some ice cubes for variety. The kids can play, standing up, so no sand in the shoes or pants. The umbrella is a nice touch, so that I know they are protected from the sun. My very active boys will play for hours together. It is low enough that a toddler can play, but my 5 year old still loves it too. Great product and well priced!

 
leaks water slowly
By kVerified Purchaser from san mateo, ca on 6/2/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent

Unfortunately, leaks water out of both the sand and water sides where the legs insert into the table. Leaks quite quickly on the water side so that after about 10 minutes, all the water is gone. My toddler and her friends did show interest in it though.

Step2 Response: If the plugs are faulty, replacements can be obtained from Step2 by calling 1-800-347-8372. Sometimes, putting petroleum jelly around the hole before installing the plugs will help as well.
 
BEST WATER TABLE!!!!
By Liz from Connecticut on 6/2/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son LOVES this table! He received it as a gift for his first birthday from a group of moms of under 2 year olds (most of which actually have this table for their children) It's a wonderful table. I haven't had any problems with leaking (and I fill both sides with water) I love how this table looks. As a stay-at-home mom, I have other SAHMs/children over for playgroups and all the kids just love this table. And I love the umbrella! It's nice a big and creates a ton of shade for the kids. All-in-all... worth the price, hours of playtime for the little ones, great look, no leaking, easy to put together, tons of fun!!!!

 
Even the big kids love it.
By Molly from Powell, OH on 5/31/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Hours of Fun
Best Uses:
Group Play, Older Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my 18 month old daughter but she hasn't been able to get near it -- my 6 and 7 year olds and their friends have been dominating it. I was suprised by how much they've played with it considering we bought a new swingset at the same time. They love mixing the sand and the water, making rivers, castles, etc. It's a complete mess -- they do get covered in sand and water -- but they love it. It's like a day at the beach without the jellyfish.

I agree with the review about adding a hole to the sand side -- that would be very nice.

 
Hours on end of experimental play.....
By Oma from Pacific Northwest, WA on 5/31/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Cover encourages play too, Durable, Hours of Fun, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Sand Water Pebbles, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old son LOVES when it has all sand. He plays for hours with his trucks and cars. My 2 year old daughter LOVES when it has all water. She loves to pour from cup to cup and will go around watering my flowers. I have even used smooth pebbles (pea gravel) just to give them a variety of texture. Pinto beans on both sides work great too. My son will also run his cars along the tracks if the cover is on. Ours has never leaked and is as sturdy today as it was when we first bought it 2 years ago. Great quality product.

 
Great outdoor attraction
By Grammy and GrampsVerified Purchaser from Madison, WI on 5/30/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparents
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our two grandsons thoroughly enjoy the sand and water table. It offers many opportunities for creative play and interaction.

 
I would buy this product again
By rebeccaVerified Purchaser from cherry hill nj on 5/30/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this produst. Both my children love it!!

 
Excellent for the toddler set!
By NicoVerified Purchaser from Northeast on 5/29/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2-year-old loves this table. It's the perfect height and the umbrella is great for keeping him out of the sun.

 
Kept them busy!!
By Kerry the stay at home momVerified Purchaser from upstate NY on 5/29/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kid's love it! Especially my two year old. I only keep sand in it because it became a mud bath with the water. But it is great.

 
Good fun product
By Stay Home Mommy Tania from Ontario, Ca on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Safe
Cons:
Water slowly leaks out
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this table after reading the reviews for both the Little Tykes and Step 2 table. The Step 2 had better reviews and a better price. My three year old girl & 10 year old boy love it. The sand & water do mix but what can one expect with kids? The only complaint is the slow leakage of the water but that has been addressed. All in all a great product that keeps kids busy for hours.

 
Hours of fun!
By Tina from Rhode Island on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent

My kids love this table! Lots of fun with sand or water. Only problem is the umbrella. It is flimsy and broke easily. Also, the kids tend to put sand in the hole where the unbrella goes making it very difficult to remove. The table is very durable and much neater than a sandbox.

 
Looking forward to years & years of fun
By GenaVerified Purchaser from Luling, TX on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our 21 month old loves this table (and the umbrella). We are experiencing no leaks on the water side of the table. I had read that some people were having a hard time storing the umbrella but it fits inside the closed lid when not in use. The only thing I would change is that there needs to be a drain hole on the sand side (water and sand are fun to mix!!) with a fine screen over it to keep the sand in. Ours is currently resembling a beach and ocean but still lots of fun!

 
Terrific Table!
By Ms. Becca from Tacoma Wa on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Hours of Fun
Best Uses:
Group Play
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this table for 2 seasons at our childcare facility. The children love it!We use water only in it and they have a terrific time. It has held up well to HARD use! Very impressed with the quality.

 
Grandson loves it!
By barbaraVerified Purchaser from boston on 5/25/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 18 mos. old grandson loves this activity table! Very and easy to clean up after water play.

 
Pretty good design, one flaw
By Tymn from Austin, TX on 5/24/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay-at-home Dad
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This went together fairly easily, but I would recommend a drill with a phillips-head bit to speed things along. Pre-drilled pilot holes would have helped. Leak around one leg was solved by more firmly seating the leg, may have to caulk later. It's a good size for three kids to play, and my toddler twins LOVE playing in the water. It looks to be the sturdiest of the tables I looked at. Long-term durability remains to be seen.

 
Great Outdoor Activity!!
By cjsmithaVerified Purchaser from West Chester, OH on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great outdoor toy... This was a gift for my nephews (3 and 6 yrs old) and they haven't stopped raving about it since I gave it to them. There's a ton of room for both boys to play and plenty more for other kids to join in. It will also be great to have in the house during the cold months for the kids to play with leggos and other toys.

 
Lots of fun
By Sophie from Cedar Rapids, IA on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun
Cons:
Hard to Keep Clean, No drain in sand part, No umbrella stand, Unsafe
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This activity table provides lots of fun and imaginative play and it also keeps my oldest two (now 3 & 5) captivated for an hour or two. We have one rule though, "sand and water does not mix" to be able to keep the water free from debris as much as possible and so the sand pit doesn't become a mud hole. One con is that the sand part doesn't contain a drain. A meshed drain would be optimal and we will try to make one ourselves, so the water can drain away from the sand. The biggest con is that the umbrella doesn't have a stand or something that keeps it from blowing overboard if a wind gust catches it. It has happened several times and the pole has been close to hit one of the children in the process. It doesn't stay in the ground even if we try to jam it down. We are going to drill a hole in the pole and attach a device through it under the table to keep it from being an unsafe feature. The umbrella in itself is providing great shade.
I think the four long screws are a bit of a overkill for attaching the legs. Screwing a metal screw into plastic material feels a bit flimsy. You definitely need a power tool though, a manual Philips screwdriver doesn't cut it, the pre drilled holes aren't so pre drilled so to speak.
It deserves a four star rating though, because of the fun of playing with water and sand, and to do it on a comfortable standing level is a bonus.

 
Sand and Water Activity Center
By Ade from Harrisburg, PA on 5/21/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is great! It has provided endless amounts of entertainment for my 2 year old and 1 year old as well as older friends and nieces and nephews who come over to play. My biggest problems with it are that the umbrella was very flimsy and broke shortly after we bought it. Also, the bridges do not stay on and I wish the plug on the water side was underneath the table instead of in the play area. Curious fingers like to open the plug and let all of the water out!
Overall I would say this is the most played with and most enjoyed toy we have ever purchased!

 
A child's deliight!
By Grand Aunt SuzanVerified Purchaser from toy is in Indianola, Iowa. on 5/19/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Grand aunt to a toddler
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely loved by my 2 year old grand niece. Her mother says it's wonderful for spreading sand all over everything and her daughter loves it. Goes out everyday and she almost has to drag her into the house for a nap. The new twins will love it too. [...]

 
Hours of Fun
By PaPa DaveVerified Purchaser from Simi Valley, CA on 5/19/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandpa
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our two year old granddaughter just loves her new activity center. She just plays for hours on end without getting bored. Our only recommendation would be to add more toys, sand molds etc. Well worth the money!

 
Excellent for Toddlers
By LaurenVerified Purchaser from Round Rock, TX on 5/18/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had looked and looked until I found this - a friend had one before and I wasn't sure who made it. I was thrilled to find that it was still available and even better that it comes with an umbrella (which is actually pretty nice). Terrific playtime entertainment for my 2 year old son.

 
Excellent Product!
By KateVerified Purchaser from Dublin, VA on 5/18/2007
Pros:
Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Not as deep as I expected
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids 4 and 2 love it! they would spend all day playing in it. They love the umbrella too it makes it special, and I love that they are happy.

 
Good backyard fun
By Rich & WendyVerified Purchaser from Mt Sinai, NY on 5/17/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
New grandparents
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to put together and it arrived pretty much when you said it would. Our grandson as played with it only a short time so far but is fully engaged.

 
Naturally Playful Sand Water Activity Ce
By NadiyahVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 5/16/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this product.

 
My day care kids love this product.
By ccVerified Purchaser from Johnson, Vt on 5/15/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The height is perfect for the children and we like the umbrella for shade. It is a great product.

 
14month old and 3 year old love
By kwiersch from redwood city, ca on 5/14/2007
Pros:
Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play
Describe Yourself:
New Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great play for wide age span. Kids naturally mix the sand side and the water side and sand gets out the bottom. Sand also can come out if the umbrella isn't in but overall, a big hit.

 
My Preschool Children can not get Enough
By Teacher Berta from Portland,Oregon on 5/11/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product when I started my daycare/preschool and every child loves it! The lids works great and keeps it clean and safe from the rain and it is very easy to clean and it was the greatest investment I have ever made. I love it!!

 
The best outdoor toy investment ever!
By Em's mom from Indiana on 5/5/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my daughter's 2nd birthday. This is our second summer with the toy, and it just keeps getting more fun! We have a swingset, large playhouse, riding toys galaore, etc., but the first thing she always plays with is the sand and water table (and plays with it for hours!).

I love that it offers both a sand and water area. However, for the younger children, you may only want to use for sand only or water only, as with curious children the two substances will mix easily!

I also love the cover and umbrella, this makes for clean and safe play!

 
Endless outdoor fun.
By SusanA from Norton, MA on 4/29/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe
Cons:
it leaks on water side
Best Uses:
good for all ages, Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just got this for our one year old's birthday. He loves it and so does his 6yr. sister. One major problem, the water side does leak.

 
Great gift
By Anthony's mom from Strongsville, Ohio on 4/28/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son received this as a gift on his first birthday and it quickly became a favorite with him and the neighborhood children. It is fun and appropriate for children of many ages. We have had the table for 10 months and have never had a problem with water leaking. The sand side of the table does frequently get filled with water so a drain on that side would have been helpful.

 
Sandbox Perfection
By Grandma from Palatine, IL on 4/28/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Difficult Assembly, Water Plug comes out easy
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Physical Activity, Small Children, Two is the best number
Describe Yourself:
Grandma
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my now 3 yr. old grandson was 18 months old, he always played at the box. My two yr. old grandson began sharing the box when he was 15 moonths old. When it's warm, they insist we add water. If you can only get one outdoor toy, this should be the one. It has stayed outside through 2 Chicago winters and it is just as good as the day we bought it.

 
Daycare Kids Loved IT!!
By Daycare Provider in the the NW from Washington State on 4/27/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play
Describe Yourself:
Daycare Provider- Educator
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Even though I used this strictly as a water table (sand and water + daycare kids = wet sand) All of my daycare children loved it. Even the youngest ones ie 13months enjoyed playing with the water. The durable top with the loop locks the lid down nice and tight. I live in the very windy NW and have never had a problem losing the lid. Perfect for group play! Highly recommend!!

 
Hours of FUN !!!!!!!!!
By Emily's Mom from Middle Island, New York on 4/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter received this as a gift for her last birthday. She just loves it. We fill both sides with sand when the weather really doesn't permit water play. She will build castles and play for hours. It is also nice when she has play dates as several kids can play at once and have a great time. I HIGHLY recommend this product. Another great toy by Step2.

 
Great product for our 2 and 1 year old
By ChelleVerified Purchaser from Gillette, WY on 4/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Physical Activity, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My girls do not want to leave the table, they would stay out all day if I would let them.

 
love the beach in the backyard.!!!!
By Grammy CarolVerified Purchaser from Bradenton, Fla. on 4/26/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Weather Resistant
Cons:
Water leaks
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Older Children, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughter loves her beach in the backyard. It is fun as well as challenging. My only complaint is that the water side leaks and the water eventually empties out. It would also be nice if the umbrella was a bit bigger for greater protection from the sun...

 
Love it!
By Troys mom from Milford,Massachusetts on 4/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our son loves this water /sand table. It seems to leak on the water side a little but all in all its great!

 
This is an excellent product!
By Mommyof2Verified Purchaser from Murrayville, GA on 4/22/2007
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Easy Assembly, Hours of Fun, Lots of fun, Safe, Weather Resistant
Best Uses:
Group Play, Individual Play, Small Children
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 1/2 year old loves this product. The umbrella gives it the added touch.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Grandkids have not used the product yet
By POTAOPVerified Purchaser from Traveller, U.S. on 4/20/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Cons:
Boring
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Indoor, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Old fogey
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

More stability than I expected

 
What isn't there to love
By AmyGVerified Purchaser from Colorado Springs, CO on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two kids (4 & 1) both love it. My daughter can take the cover off herself and put it back on when she is all done. The kids are rather messy so I wouldn't put it in my house. The size is nice, because the kids and friends can all play at the same time. And the umbrella is really nice, especially here in CO.

 
My son loves it!!
By Jack's MomVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fantastic activity center for outside. My son loves driving his trucks through the sand. The platform is the perfect height and large enough for multiple children to use. I'd definitely recommend it!

 
Great idea, but not very practical
By LaurelVerified Purchaser from St. Augustine, FL on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although this table is a great idea especially the umbrella - for my daughter it was more mess and trouble than it was worth. She constantly puts the sand into the water side which causes a big mess at clean up time not to mention the mess, cost and hassle of constantly replacing the play sand. It may be a five star table for another child that is older or is able to follow directions better, (my daughter has sensory/developmental issues), but for us it was a great idea, but not very practical. I also bought two chairs and she has never used them and prefers to stand.

 
Fabulous toy!
By Mommy of oneVerified Purchaser from Studio City, CA on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Cover stays put, Durable, Fun, Has drain plugs, Interactive, Large umbrella, Perfect height, Safe, Sits off the ground
Cons:
Assembly takes time, Power tools helpful
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, New Parent, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product more than met our expectations. It arrived as scheduled and the box wasn't too heavy for me to move myself. It took about 45 minutes to put together and really requires power tools (screwdriver) to assemble. I wish the leg holes had been pre-drilled. When assembled it is very sturdy and the perfect height for my one year old and her older friends. The umbrella is large enough to shade the entire toy although it would be nice to have it tilt (this one does not tilt at all). This table sits up and off the grass so we have no dead patches underneath, it is also not accessible to neighborhood cats/ squirls etc.The cover stays firmly in place when the table is not in use. We love this toy and feel it is an excellent value for the quality.

 
Fun ahead!
By Chase!Verified Purchaser from Illinois on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Imaginative Play
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great that our son will be able to stand and play with his sand box. Easy assembly!

 
Fun Outside Toy!
By Mom of 3Verified Purchaser from Austin, Texas on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent, Working Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall it has been a good toy. The kids like it and it is easy to fill with sand/water and easy to drain the water. And I love that it comes with a strap to keep the lid on when its not in use. It can get really windy here and without that, it would easily blow away. My only complaint is with the umbrella. When you have the cover on there is no place to put it and it just ends up lying on the ground next to the toy. It would be nice if there was a hole in the top of the lid so that the umbrella could be up off the ground when its not in use.
The toys that come with it are a great size for toddlers to use and the grooves on the top of the lid are a nice feature as well. One of my sons loves cars and it is like having a train/car table outside. I would definitely recommend it to others.

 
I would recommend this product to anyone
By BarneswaVerified Purchaser from Mountain View, CA on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Group Activity, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product exceded my expectations! Sturdy manufacturing, as well as childhood interest.

 
The first thing the kids run to!
By Taylor Tots GirlVerified Purchaser from Wentzville, MO on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Cons:
Leaks a little
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This sand and water table is perfect for kids of all ages. This is the first thing my kids run to when they go outside. We did have a little trouble with the water side leaking, but we keep it outside anyways. The kids love this one!

 
Great for toddlers!
By grammyVerified Purchaser from austin, tx on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Grandmother
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughters love playing with the sand feature. Since there are three of them playing together, they use the water area for sand play also and it gives them plenty of space. It is just the right height for toddlers.

 
Great fun for kids
By Proud GrandpaVerified Purchaser from Lafayette, IN on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive
Cons:
Umbrella support bad, Unsafe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Group Activity, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Grandparent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our Granddaughter loves it. Make sure you get good clean sand. The cover for the sandbox is great.

 
My 2 year old loves it!
By Happy momVerified Purchaser from Salem, OR on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The elevated sandbox works really well for my two year old to stand up & play. I like the umbrella for the sunny days.

 
I don't know what we did without this!
By Popular GrandmomVerified Purchaser from Nashville, GA on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fun, Interactive, Safe
Best Uses:
Creative Development, Imaginative Play, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The neighborhood children beg to play at my house because of my sand and water table. Their parents have to drag them away from it when it's time to go home. We bake cakes in the sand, sail ships in the water, have toy car washes, and rescue jungle animals from the swamp! We move it from the carport in the winter to outside with the umbrella in the summer. It offers hours of creative play for one to ten!

 
Doesn't hold water!
By Lauren's MomVerified Purchaser from Enid, OK on 4/18/2007
Pros:
Fun, Interactive, Safe
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
Group Activity, Outdoor
Describe Yourself:
Stay At Home Parent
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the idea of this table but I was sad to discover that after spending $[...] the water leaked out from the leg holes very quickly! I read another review that said they ended up putting caulk around the leg holes so we might try that.

Step2 Response: If the plugs are faulty, replacements can be obtained from Step2 by calling 1-800-347-8372. Sometimes, putting petroleum jelly around the hole before installing the plugs will help as well.
Customer Reviews about the Sand Water Activity Center at Step2
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2008 Step2 All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.